Kick your own a$$!

I thought I was going to have to pass on the gym today because of a parent meeting for religion.  I was disappointed thinking I couldn’t go and then realized I had more time between work and this meeting than I thought so I headed straight there at 5:00, happy to get a workout in and totally fine with making this my gym time rather than run an errand, do a load of laundry or sit around and do nothing time. Since I’m in my taper week before my half on Sunday I had no plans on running tonight (did 2 miles last night) and just wanted to focus on some weight training. I was not going anywhere near leg machines so I focused on upper body. I’ve never had a trainer because it doesn’t fit into my budget but when I signed up at my first gym it came with a free hour session with a trainer. I took a lot away from that hour and learned how to use machines, free weights and maintain form during use. While I would love to be able to work with a trainer so that I could just get my ass kicked sometimes, I’ve learned how to do that on my own.

20161026_192031 Tonight’s workout focused on shoulders, biceps, triceps. Here’s what I did:

Close-Grip Front Lat Pulldown (3 sets, 15 reps, 70 lbs)

Wide Grip Lat Pulldown (3 sets, 15 reps, 55 lbs)

Dumbbell Bench Press (3 sets, 15 reps, 10 lbs)

Dumbbell Alternate Bicep Curl (3 sets, 15 reps, 10 lbs)

Bicep Curl Machine (3 sets, 15 reps, 30 lbs)

Alternate Bent Over Dumbbell Kickback (3 sets, 15 reps, 10 lbs)

Dumbbell Shoulder Press (3 sets, 15 reps, 10 lbs)

Seated Stationary Dumbbell Bicep Curl (3 sets, 15 reps, 10 lbs)

And I of course ended the workout with some planking. You have to plank!! Just like you have to do a leg day! Three one minute planks with one minute rest between each to finish off the night. A lot of what I do I take from multiple resources. My favorite right now and where I got this workout from is the Jefit App which offers so many different workouts, ideas, and tools to keep you motivated and trying new things which in turn helps to build muscle.  The rest of the week I’ll be taking it easy, preparing for my half but it was definitely a good #WorkoutWednesday!

20161026_192204

One thought on “Kick your own a$$!

Leave a Reply

