No worries Mon!

I haven’t traveled much in my life. My parents worked hard but never really could afford big, fancy family trips. It never mattered though, because most of my favorite childhood memories are from the low key, local trips we did take. When I became financially responsible for myself after college I was able to travel to two places (Vegas and St.Croix) before becoming pregnant.  Vacations after that were not an option. We did use one friend’s destination wedding as our “honeymoon” which was actually before our wedding but it was just how we could swing things at the time. So it was a good 10 years before I was able to afford a vacation and of course the first one I chose was Disney with the kids. And while I loved everything about that trip it was not necessarily a vacation, as I’m sure anyone who has been there will tell you. I am so happy and proud that I was able to take my kids somewhere that most kids dream of visiting. Since then I have vowed that it’s time for us to start taking vacations that were once never an option and visiting places that I always hoped I could one day get to. And it just so happened that one of my best friends was getting married in one of those places this year. Montego Bay, Jamaica!! I was beyond ecstatic to be going and when I got there I was in heaven!! I would have loved to take my kids but this was an adults only trip and one I think I earned.

20161106_091248

There’s nothing I love more than the beach so this was my type of vacation. I had heard great things about Jamaica and it lived up to and exceeded my expectations. The weather was amazing, the water crystal clear, the food delicious, the drinks tasty, and the fish tropical but it was the Jamaican people that were my favorite part of the trip and what I will remember most (besides the reason I was there and the company I was with of course). I have never met more welcoming, friendly, care-free and fun people in my life. Everyday is a blessing to them and we all need to take a page from their books. You are greeted with a smile and a good morning, good day or good evening by everyone you come into contact throughout the day. If you are not smiling, it is their mission to make you smile. The first question they ask you is “You good?” And of course your response must be……YEAH MON! That’s my favorite line now if you haven’t heard. They love music, dancing, laughing, entertaining and fist bumps! When you’re in Jamaica, you don’t worry ’bout a thing.

20161103_102410-1

I am truly changed from this trip and have always felt life is too short to sweat the small stuff. But I have learned even more so that everyday is a blessing, life is a beautiful thing, and every little thing gonna be alright. We all have our problems, life issues and things that make us sad but every day is a new day so be kind, be thoughtful, be generous, love one another and live each day like it’s your last. And while you’re at it, listen to a little Bob Marley!

Rise up this mornin’
Smiled with the risin’ sun
Three little birds
Pitch by my doorstep
Singin’ sweet songs
Of melodies pure and true
Saying’, (this is my message to you)
Singing’ don’t worry ’bout a thing
‘Cause every little thing gonna be alright
Singing’ don’t worry (don’t worry) ’bout a thing
‘Cause every little thing gonna be alright
one-love
2 thoughts on “No worries Mon!

Leave a Reply

