It’s #workoutwednesday and my legs are hating me!

If there is one thing I will say about a workout routine it’s that it MUST include a leg day. I may have said that once already and I’ll probably say it again. I actually wish I could say it to a guy at my gym. He walks around every day doing upper body so he has this muscular upper half and these tiny, skinny, little legs. I just want to go up to him sometimes, take him by the shoulders, shake him and tell him EVERYONE NEEDS A LEG DAY!! YOU LOOK RIDICULOUS!!! Hopefully one day he’ll figure that out on his own.

Now that I’m running I should try to incorporate leg exercises in as much as I can. But during training I tend to focus more on running and lay off the strength training a bit. Especially because when not done frequently it can make you extremely sore and make it harder to run. For instance, walking hurts today! But it’s such a good pain. With no long races coming up, that means for the next couple of months I will primarily be focusing more on strength training.

Leg day is one of my favorite days. I feel like I get the most out of it and the best overall full body workout. Last night at the gym  I did 2 1/2 miles on the treadmill to warm up and get loose, followed by some machines. I did three sets of 15 to 20 reps on the:

  • Leg Press with 100 lb weight
  • Hip Abductor with 100 lb weight
  • Leg Extension with 60 lb weight

Then I did a short circuit workout to finish up the night that consisted of:

  • 20 Kettle bell squats
  • 15 Kettle bell swings
  • 20 Curtsy lunges

I did three rounds with little rest in between each move and about a minute rest in between each round. I was exhausted after that and felt great.

Tonight I headed over to my new gym, Retro Fitness, and wanted to check out a spin class. This is another one of my favorite workouts and something I wish I could do more of. I switched gyms because of convenience and I’m super excited about the new one. It’s all clean and new and fresh smelling. I think I’m most looking forward to the cardio theater because it will hopefully help me get in longer treadmill runs since a movie is a better distraction than my normal music. Unfortunately because it’s so new they are still working on their instructors and schedule so there was no spin. I just putzed around a little on the elliptical, stair climber and some ab machines because I had no game plan other than a spin class. But it was better than nothing!

Leave a Reply

