200 Miles in 100 Days…bring it!

I know I’ve said it before but I struggle with early morning alarms to get me up for a run before I HAVE to get up for work. It was easier in the summer when the sun was coming up, the birds were chirping and it was warm outside. But with the time change and the shorter days my mileage is suffering because I’m only getting a few short treadmill runs in each week at night when I go to the gym. I belong to running groups on social media (shout out to the Sub-30 group) and I get a serious case of run envy with all the posting of early morning runs, rainy runs, cold runs, long runs, night runs, etc.

envy

For me, I need something to be training for to really motivate me and make me commit to running. During training, running becomes a priority no matter what. I know that sounds like I’m forcing myself to run and that I don’t have a love for running like most runners do. But it’s not that.  I do love it and that’s why I get the run envy. I want to be able to run as much as I wish I could but it’s just not always in the cards. I work full time, I have two kids who have busy schedules and I don’t have a spouse who I can turn to at any time and say gonna go run, be back in a few.  I have to carefully plan out my running and gym schedule to fit it in where I can. And during these busier, colder months and shorter days it’s harder to hit the pavement as much as I’d like. When I’m not training and I have to choose between regular life obligations and running or whether to run in crappy weather, or run before the sun comes up, or sleep in on the weekend and not do a long run, it’s easier to blow off those runs because I don’t NEED them.

I know in my heart that if I really want to keep my mileage up and get those runs in that I so love to do I’m going to have to suck it up and head out in the cold darkness that is 5:30 a.m. But I know myself and I know that unless I have a goal I’m working for I will hear that alarm, think about the hour more of sleep I can get and turn it right off. Especially if it’s 40 degrees, raining, windy, snowing or any combination of those. So I’ve decided to sign up for a virtual run called Winter Wonder Miles – The 200 Mile Challenge! The point is to run 200 miles at your leisure from December 10th to March 20th (100 days) and get a cool medal for doing so. Signing up for things like this holds you accountable for keeping up your mileage during the winter and fighting through the excuses. I may regret it when I have to run in the snow to make my mileage but I do love a challenge!! I need to stop being envious of others who don’t let anything get in their way of a run and just get out there. Wish me luck!

Leave a Reply

