Why does it sound so easy?!

I can’t begin to express the trouble I’m having with getting up for the early morning run. The alarm is set and it’s just not happening. I was trying to get into the habit of it so that when my virtual run starts on the 10th I would have a few early runs under my belt and it wouldn’t be such a battle. The battle often leads to a letdown because the snooze button usually wins. (Lot of letdowns this week!) I think this blog is more for me than it is for anyone else. Kinda like a pep talk. But if you’re looking for that motivation as well and tips on how to become a morning runner/gym goer, here’s some tips I found in a another bloggers post which are followed by my thoughts:

Tip: Tell yourself the night before that you ARE going to wake up and run. No exceptions. I personally, have to tell myself this at least 5 times.

I guess I need to up this to about 10 times because my serious nighttime motivation I have to run in the morning has completely run out by that 5 a.m. alarm clock.

Tip: Lay your clothes and running gadgets out the night before (if you can, sleep in them). If they are in your face, you are less likely to chicken out.

I barely open my eyes when that alarm goes off, let alone look at my running clothes laid out on my bed. Maybe sleeping in them isn’t such a bad idea.

Tip: Set multiple alarms. If you have an alarm going off every 4 minutes, you are probably not going to be able to go back to sleep.

This one I haven’t tried yet and maybe this is the trick that will work for me. But I downloaded “Alarm Clock Extreme” over the summer so that I would have to answer math questions in order to shut the alarm off and I STILL sometimes went back to sleep with math equations spinning in my head. 

Tip: Go to sleep early. This one should be a “Duh”, but it must be said. If you stay up until 2 AM watching Dr. Phil, waking up 3 hours later to run isn’t going to be easy.

This is not an issue for me at all. I’m usually tucked in and TV off by 11 the latest. Such an exciting life I lead! But even some would say that’s late if you’re trying to get up at 5 to run.

Tip: Start slowly. Gradually set your alarm to wake yourself up earlier and earlier every day, until you reach the right time. This way it is less of a shock to your body.

I guess this maybe could work. But I think it’s one of those things that you just have to dive right into. It’s like dipping your toe into the cold pool. You’re probably not gonna go in if you slowly expose yourself to the cold water rather than just jumping in.  

Tip: Stick with it, even on the weekends. It is going to be virtually impossible to get your body into a rhythm if you get up at 5 AM on weekdays and 9 AM on weekends. Try to get up no later than 1.5 hours after your weekday start time.

Huge issue for me!!! I love my weekends to sleep in and when I think about setting an alarm on the weekend to get up around the same time that I do during the week I cringe. But I guess at 36 years old I really don’t need to be sleeping until 10 a.m.

Tip: Think about why you started. What is really important to you? Is getting that extra 45 minutes of sleep really worth not achieving your goals? If the answer is yes, then don’t cry when the guy next to you runs faster than you. He probably runs in the morning.

Ooooo this one is a low blow. But so very true. The less you run, the less likely you are going to be able to reach your goals especially if the morning is the only time that day you have to devote to your workout. This week was busy and I had no time at night for the gym or treadmill so I guess I can’t complain if my 5k doesn’t go well this weekend.  

Tip: You are only one workout away from a good mood. It is true! Working out in the mornings can help you be more productive, happier and set you up to eat healthier too.

This might be just what I need right now. A big reason for me not wanting to get up with my alarm is the fact that I’m not looking forward to my work day. I get that dreaded feeling when I wake up of ugh here we go again. I’m sure if I started the day off with a run it would put me in a better mood even with the 9 to 5 looming in the background.  Mind over matter! 

I hope this is helpful because I know if I do at least one or two more of these to get me going in the morning it will happen. So let’s go EMC, time to put up or shut up!! Any other suggestions welcome!

One thought on “Why does it sound so easy?!

  1. You have so much on your plate that it is understandable that some days you don’t feel like running! I know how much it means to you to run. You’ll figure this out. I have confidence in you.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

