A much needed #restday and why they’re important!

I’ve been extremely motivated this week because I have some mileage to make up for if I want to finish the #200milechallenge on time. Plus I’m close to the start of my next half marathon training so I’ve turned things into high gear. I’m still unable to really get outdoors for runs but I’ve promised myself that one of my weekend mornings from here on out is being used for longer road runs. So I’ve set myself up a calendar using my Garmin Connect website and scheduled all of my runs and training for the next couple of months. One thing I made sure was scheduled on my calendar is rest days. And today is one of those days. After running 11.2 miles on the treadmill this week and a leg day yesterday my body is ready for a rest/recovery day. Here’s why rest days are important:

1. REST PREVENTS INJURY

Plain and simple. Too much working out results in overuse of joints, bones and muscles which in turn causes injury.

2. YOUR MUSCLES NEED REST

During weight lifting what your essentially doing is tearing muscle fibers. You need rest periods in order for the immune system to repair and grow the muscle.

3. YOUR PERFORMANCE WON’T DIP

Don’t be afraid that taking time to rest will effect your progress. It takes almost two weeks of non-activity for that to start to happen. When you feel you need to rest, do it. And do it without worry.

4. OVER-TRAINING AFFECTS SLEEP

We need sleep for many reasons and if you’re over training you may not be getting enough of it. The body can go into a state of restlessness with too much exercise and effect your sleep habits.

5. YOUR IMMUNE SYSTEM CAN OVERHEAT

Heavy activity causes our immune systems too constantly activating to repair muscles and joints. If you’re not getting enough rest your immune system cannot keep up with all of the repairs the body needs which in turn leads to injuries.

6. MENTAL EDGE

The everyday daily grind can start to mentally take a toll. A day or two of rest (or more if needed) can recharge the mind and body and help prevent burnout.

rest-day1

Working full time and taking care of two kids is tiring. Incorporating workouts and runs into our schedule (while extremely beneficial) can at times be draining. Sometimes I just start to feel like I haven’t stopped moving and have been on the go for days.  I can tell when I need a night to just go home and relax and tonight is that. I deserve it!

Leave a Reply

