Doing a #FullMedalRuns Virtual 10K to honor my Dad #runforareason #runningfordad

I’m adding a little meaning and sentimental value to my run this weekend. I’ll be running for a cause which to me is totally worth the $20 I paid to sign up for this virtual run and better than the really cool medal I’ll get for doing it (as shown above). My initial motivation for signing up for another virtual run was to add a medal to my growing collection. Well really I only have 2 at this point (for the two half marathons) and 1 more coming when I finish the #200milechallenge.  But that motivation has changed. When I looked at the options on the Full Medal Runs site there was one that jumped out at me that I knew I needed to join. I’ll be doing the Hearts to Shamrocks virtual run to support the American Heart Association which receives part of the proceeds from anyone that signs up. This has true meaning because my Dad passed away 4 years ago from congestive heart failure as a result of COPD. A lot of how I live my life now is in his honor and in hopes of making him proud as he watches from above. I know if he was still here with us he would be one of my biggest cheerleaders and would be at every finish line standing right beside my mom cheering me on. So tomorrow I will be running a 10k in his honor and am encouraging people to get up, get out, and get moving. Do it for you, do it for your kids if you have, do it for a loved one you lost. We are in charge of our lives and our health so find your motivation, find your reason and use it to drive you to be the best version of yourself that you are capable of being. And with that you will realize you are capable of a lot! This one is for you Dad!

be-your-best-self

2 thoughts on “Doing a #FullMedalRuns Virtual 10K to honor my Dad #runforareason #runningfordad

Leave a Reply

