Why I’m running a #marathon and what it means to me

Did you ever get to the point in your life where you feel like there is nothing happening for you? Not the unhappy, I’m miserable kind of way but that there’s just no big changes happening, no big events to look forward to, you’re in the same routine everyday and you just need something to do to make things more exciting. I guess that was kinda where I was a year and a half ago. Big things were happening for everyone around me and I was just still trucking along, working the 9 to 5, taking care of my kids and following the same routine every day.

In the past, I remember watching coverage of the NYC marathon, seeing FB posts of people running or spectating and thinking to myself that looks like so much fun and I need to do that at least once in my life. While most people would have leaned towards being a spectator I decided I wanted to run it. I wanted to set a goal for myself. I wanted something to be excited about. I wanted to push myself to do something I had never done. I was unable to do it that year so I just started running, I did some 5ks, halfs and fun runs. I tried this year for NYC and I had thought about doing a different one if I didn’t get in through the lottery. But that just didn’t feel right. This was the marathon I wanted to do so I wasn’t settling. Unfortunately, the odds were not in my favor.

My only way in, because lets face it I’m not some elite runner who gets asked to run races (yet!), was to run for a charity and raise money towards their cause. After looking through my options I knew I needed to run for the American Heart Association. My Dad underwent open heart surgery to replace his aortic valve back in 1999. It was a pretty big deal and he went on for years with no major issues until he was diagnosed with Chronic Obstructive Pulmonary Disease (COPD). Slowly his health started to deteriorate and it took a toll on his heart. During one of his hospital stays his heart stopped but they were able to revive him and he was nursed back to health enough to be released after 5 weeks in the hospital. Little did we know that in a short time we would be back there again only this time he wouldn’t get to go home. When my Dad got sick, he was hospitalized in ICU and the doctors did everything they could but slowly his organs started failing. During this time his heart went into v-tach (irregular heartbeat) which is a result of congestive heart failure and there was nothing that medicine or the doctors could do. We knew at that point it was only a matter of time.

Dad

I wish everyday that things were different. The mourning and grief of losing a parent are a grueling process. To this day, it is still so difficult to get up each morning and realize he’s not here. But I have lived my life since his passing trying to make him proud. My Dad had become my biggest supporter and greatest help through all that was going on in my life before he passed away. I know that if he was here he would be at every finish line with my Mom waiting for me. Just like he was at every soccer game, dance recital, and school function for my kids. That is why I will be running in honor of his fight and in memory of the amazing man he was. If you would like to donate to help me reach my goal please click on the following link:

American Heart Association Fundraising

e8339548-6d94-4579-9c19-fdd7d5ebede1-large16x9_AmericanHeartAssociation

Thank you!

Leave a Reply

