#Whole30 Update and Recipes!

Getting through week 3 has been a little difficult. I’m not much of an extravagant eater and can be somewhat picky based on textures of foods. So three weeks of eggs for breakfast is getting a little old. But I can’t seem to find another breakfast recipe that I would be willing to try. There are a few “porridge” or oatmeal type meals I could make but again I can’t always stomach certain textures and that’s one of them. So breakfast this week I’ve just been scrambling some eggs and mixing it with whatever else I’ve made for the week like these Avocado Stuffed Meatballs. These would be great as an appetizer as well. Some other recipes I found and have made in the last two weeks are:

Whole30 Whole Chicken

This was family friendly and similar to how I usually cook so nothing out of the ordinary that the kids wouldn’t eat. They of course got their pasta dish as their side and I had the potatoes that I roasted with the chicken seasoned with salt and pepper.

Cracklin’ Chicken

This has been so good and I’ve been adding it to some mixed greens with avocado, a hard boiled egg and cherry tomatoes. I find when I use avocado and egg in my salads they almost make their own dressing so I didn’t have to bother with trying to make a whole30 compliant dressing for this salad.

Pizza Potato Skins

potatoes

Mexican Steak and Avocado Salsa

This was super spicy!!! I don’t know if I overdid it on one spice or just in general it’s made to be that way because it was a little too much for the kids but still good!

steak

Canned Tuna Ceviche

 

For my long run this past weekend I used grapes as my fuel. I had read that dried figs or dates were also a good source of fuel for runners on Whole30 but when I looked at them at the store I got that ew gross feeling. I didn’t want to waste my money on something that I wasn’t sure I would be able to eat so I came up with the grapes idea and felt like they did the trick and provided me with enough fuel to finish my run. I also ate more of a breakfast than I normally would which helped get some good carbs in me before the run. Sweet potatoes have been my go to!! It’s been really tough turning down the sugary, chocolatey junk food snacks I like to have now and again but I had gotten too indulgent recently so I’m hoping this will help minimize those cravings and keep the treats from being a nightly occurrence again. So just getting ready to meal plan for week 4 and be close to done with my 30 days!

Leave a Reply

