Getting in the swing! The importance of hydration and nutrition during #marathontraining

I’m midway into week 2 of training and am really starting to get into the full swing of it and becoming more focused on hitting my mileage, taking care of myself and fueling my body. I need to make a few adjustments with giving myself enough time for these runs but have felt pretty good with what I have been able to do these first two weeks. Especially considering the first week was spent vacationing!  Summer running has been hard for me but pushing through those struggles is a challenge I’m looking forward to conquering this summer. With heat and humidity playing a big role in summer runs it’s important to take care of your body and stay hydrated.

While on vacation in Mexico my nutrition and hydration were not exactly on point. I was able to get in a few runs and tried my best to stay hydrated but I cut my runs short because I knew I was not taking care of myself the way I should have been. Ya know, frozen drinks by the pool all day and beers on the beach (as seen above) is not ideal for marathon training but it was week one and it was a vacation so I cut myself some slack. I made sure I was drinking water throughout the day but it’s difficult to be 100% strict with your eating and drinking when you’re away.

One thing I did rely on were my GoMacro Protein Bars. These are plant-based, gluten-free, usda organic, vegan, non-gmo, kosher, and soy-free. They are absolutely delicious and have no additives or preservatives. They gave me that boost in the morning to keep me feeling full and energized to help beat the heat and humidity on my runs. 

Check out their website here for more info and to shop the variety of protein bars they offer, one just as good as the next.

Bars

2 thoughts on “Getting in the swing! The importance of hydration and nutrition during #marathontraining

Leave a Reply

